In my arms

As I was rocking my baby girl to sleep tonight I realized something. The face of a sleeping child is the sweetest thing on earth.

No matter what the day has held, those faces change everything. If you’ve had a bad day, a rough day, a disappointing day, that face sleeping will change it all.

Some nights I catch myself watching our girls sleep. I just stand there and watch them as they are peacefully unaware of the cruel world around them. Their only protection from the cruelties of life is in our hands. We are their keepers, the ones who make it all better. It’s as if they know that they are completely and 100% safe right here, at home.

I can’t help but feel a sense of accomplishment just knowing they feel that safety. Knowing that no matter what the world throws at them, we are right here to catch them when life knocks them down.

Most nights I rock my baby girl to sleep. I swear, I wouldn’t have it any other way. Just being able to hold her and provide that safety for her gives me the best pleasure as a mother. I remember rocking my first born the same way and feeling the best I could. Just knowing she felt the safest in my arms was great. I won’t always be able to hold any of our girls like that forever because on day they will be grown. But I hope they all know that right here, in my arms, none of them will be harmed, they will always be safe. Always.

None of them will ever be subjected to the tumultuous childhood I had. With every last fiber in my body, they will be safe and protected.

So, like I was saying, just looking at a child as they sleep peacefully, is one of the greatest things there is. One of the greatest rewards life has.

Parents, cherish them when they are small. Before the cruel world gets to them and hardens them as people. Cherish the innocence. Cherish their curiosity. Cherish it all while they are still perfectly innocent and look to you for all their protection, love and guidance.

I love you girls. All of you. With all my heart.  KMDP, RRB, JBM and JBM.

 

Leave a Reply

